Edo Guber: PDP Appoints Three Govs to Conduct Ward Congresses

Edo Guber: PDP Appoints Three Govs to Conduct Ward Congresses

*Makinde rejects nomination as c’ttee chair

Chuks Okocha in Abuja

Following the rejection  by the Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde, to head the Edo State ward Congresses committee, the party has replaced him with two governors to ensure fairness.
 The two governors included the Governor of Enugu State, Peter Mbah, who would serve as chairman, while his Taraba State counterpart, Agbu Kafas, would serve as a member of the committee.

Other members were Marrie Ebikake Dare Akinwale and Pascal Adigwe, who was assigned to serve as secretary.
According to a statement by the National Organising Secretary, Bature Umar, “The  approved reconstitution of the Ward Congresses Electoral Committee to conduct the 3-man Ad Hoc Ward Congresses for the purpose of electing 3Ad-Hoc Delegate (one of whom shall be a Woman) per Ward in each of the 192 Wards of Edo State.

Earlier, Makinde, had rejected his chairmanship of the committee citing late appointment as he was already engaged for other things on scheduled appointment.
Makinde, in a letter to the NWC of the PDP, hinged his decision on late information to his appointment and the adulteration of the list of electoral officers with government officials from Edo and Delta States.

He particularly cited the appointment of the Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly as the Electoral Officer for his local government.
In rejecting his appointment, Makinde said he was only informed on Friday, February 2, 2024, of his appointment for the conduct of the ward congresses scheduled to commence between February 3 and 4, 2024.

The governor noted that he had already scheduled activities for those days, saying the late information of his appointment prevented him from rescheduling his activities.

 “Our great party is known for conducting very transparent primaries including presidential primaries. This, in my opinion, should be the benchmark for the NWC’s conduct of elections and associated activities across the board,” he said.

The withdrawal of Governor Makinde came as nine of the governorship aspirants in a letter to the NWC expressed outrage over the adulteration of the lists of electoral officials with government officials.
The governorship aspirants cited irregularities in the membership of the members of ward congresses that would pick the governorship candidate of the PDP in Edo State.

The petition by the aspirants was signed by the Deputy Governor of Edo State, Philip Shaibu, Omoregie Ogbeide-Ihama, Anslem Ojezua, and Felix Akhabue.
Others were Martin Uhomibhi, Hadizat Umoru, Omosede Igbinedion, Osaro Oaiwu, and Arthure Esene. The exception was Asue Ighodalo.

Related Articles