172 For 2023 Maltina Teacher Award Final Stage

One hundred and seventy-two teachers from 29 states and the Federal Capital Territory have made it through the first round of grading. They will jostle for honours in the 2023 edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year competition organised by the Nigerian Breweries’ Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund. 

Of the 1,203 valid entries received, 172 teachers adjudged with the highest scores emerged for the next round.

Speaking on the first grading exercise, the Project Consultant, Prof. Uchenna Udeani, explained that the entries had been carefully scrutinized and graded by a team of experienced lecturers, after which 172 teachers made the cut-off with the highest scores to proceed to the second phase.

Udeani disclosed that the 172 successful entries will be passed to the competition’s distinguished panel of judges for the final grading that will produce the top 10 candidates and state champions.

In her remarks, the Corporate Affairs Director of the Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mrs. Sade Morgan, expressed satisfaction with teachers’ high level of participation in this year’s edition. She also noted that the competition recorded its highest number of valid entries since inception, with 1,203 valid entries out of 1,499 entries submitted.

Morgan reaffirmed the commitment of the Felix Ohiwerei Trust Fund to rewarding outstanding teachers through the competition. She restated that the overall winner of the competition would receive a trophy, a total cash prize of N6.5 million, and capacity development training while the winner’s school receives either a block of classroom or a computer laboratory. 

She tasked the panel of judges headed by Prof. Pat Utomi to carry out the rigorous evaluation process, as always, to ensure that the best teacher emerges as the 2023 Maltina Teacher of the Year.

The call for entry for the ninth edition of the competition kicked off on May 25, 2023, while submission of entries closed on August 4, 2023.

The winner of the 2023 Maltina Teacher of the Year competition and the state champions would be announced, celebrated and rewarded at the grand finale scheduled for October 20, 2023, in Lagos.

Related Articles