Again, Sanwo-Olu Presents Omotoso, Abayomi, Egube, Eight Others to House of Assembly

Again, Sanwo-Olu Presents Omotoso, Abayomi, Egube, Eight Others to House of Assembly

•Drops Adeyoye, Adefisayo, Hammond, two others

Segun James

The Lagos State  House of Assembly (LAHA) yesterday received new list of cabinet nominees sent to by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu. Eleven of the 17 nominees earlier dropped by the House made the list while five were dropped in the new list.

Those dropped were Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo (Education); Mrs. Solape Hammond (SDG); Mrs. Aramide Adeyoye (Works and Infrastructure); Lekan Fatodu and Rotimi Ogunwuyi who were replaced by six new names.

Those that replaced them were Mr. Afolabi Tajudeen, Mr. Akinyemi Ajigbotafe, Tolani Sule-Akibu, Dr. Yekini Agbaje, Dr Iyabode Ayoola and Mr. Sola Giwa.

Clerk of the House of Assembly, Olalekan Onafeko, read the governor’s letter during plenary yesterday.

The Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa, thus directed the screening committee, led by the Chief Whip, Fatai Mojeed, to reconvene and start screening the nominees as from today.

The committee is to report back to the House on Thursday.

The governor’s letter Titled: ‘Fowarding of Official List of Nominees for Appointment as Commissioners and Special Advisers,’ thanked the Speaker and members of the House for their diligence and commitment in relation to the recent screening and confirmation of 22 nominees.

“Your rigorous assessment of the nominees in adherence to your constitutional obligations demonstrates your dedication to ensuring a competent and effective council.

“After careful consideration of the 17 names that were rejected, I have decided to re-present a list of nominees which includes a balanced selection of previously presented and new individuals.

“This list represents a broad political spectrum and diverse backgrounds reflective of the rich diversity of our lovely state. I am confident these new nominees would bring fresh ideas that would help the growth and progress of Lagos.”

Other names on the list are former commissioners Gbenga Omotoso (Information and Strategy); Prof. Akin Abayomi (Health); Olalere Odusote (Energy); Cecila Dada (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation); Sam Egube (Economic Planning and Budget); as well as Folashade Ambrose-Medem, Yomi Olorunyomi, Rotimi Fashola, Mosopefolu George, Oluwaseun Osiyemi, Mrs. Barakat Bakare, and Olumide Oluyinka.

Meanwhile, the House of Assembly has resolved to review the performance of the 2023 budget in preparation for the presentation of the 2024 budget estimate by Governor Sanwo-Olu.

The House approved N1.768 trillion for the Year 2023.

Obasa, urged the committee for budget review, headed by Sa’ad Olumo, to ensure a proper review and make its report available to the House.

Related Articles