Tambuwal Loses, as Nwadkwon Emerges Senate Minority Leader

Sunday Aborisade in Abuja

The battle for the Senate Minority Leadership ended on Tuesday with the announcement of Senator Simon Davou Mwadkwon, a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) member representing Plateau North Senatorial District, as the Minority Leader.

Mwadkwon defeated Senators Aminu Tambuwal, Abdul Ningi and Adamu Aliero, who were believed to be in the camp of the candidate of the presidential candidate of the PDP, Atiku Abubakar.

The Senate President in announcing the minority leadership positions said: “The majority of members of the Senate Minority Caucus of the Senate made up of seven political parties have come up with their leadership.

“They are Senator Simon Davou Mwadkwon as the Minority Leader; Senator Lere Oyewumi (PDP, Osun West) Deputy Minority Leader; Senator Darlington Nwokocha (LP, Abia Central)  as the Minority Whip; and Senator Rufai Hanga (NNPP, Kano Central), as the Deputy Minority Whip.

Details later…

Related Articles