Buhari Presides as FEC Honours Diya With A Minute Silence

. Swears in Arase as PSC chairman

. Five code of conduct bureau members too

Deji Elumoye in Abuja 

President Muhammadu Buhari at the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting in Abuja on Wednesday observed a minute silence in honour of the late former Chief of General Staff (CGS), Lt General Oladipo Diya (rtd).

The minute silence was observed shortly before the commencement of the FEC meeting at the State House, Abuja, in remembrance of Diya, who served as the Chief of General Staff (CGS) to the late Head of State, Gen. Sani Abacha, and died on Sunday, March 26, 2023 aged 78.

The president also before the Council meeting administered the oath of office on former Inspector-General of Police (IG), Solomon Arase, as Chairman of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

The swearing-in ceremony, which coincided with that of five members of the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB), took place at the Council Chambers of the State House, Abuja.

Arase took over as Chairman of the PSC, following the resignation of another former IG, Musiliu Smith, who was reported to have been advised by the PSC Board to resign in September 2022.

The five members of the Code of CCB also sworn in by Buhari include Murtala A. Kankia from Katsina  (North-west); Zephaniah Ishaku Bulus from Nasarawa  (North-central) and Farouq Umar from Yobe State  (North-east).

Others are Abdulsalam Taofiq Olawale from Ondo State (South-west) and Prof. Juwaria Badamasiuyi from Kogi State (North-central).

Details later…

Related Articles