Niger Gov Swears in Seven New Commissioners

Laleye Dipo in Minna

The Niger State Governor, Alhaji Abubakar Sani Bello, has sworn in six new commissioners in the state.
Among those sworn in were a former Director General, Niger State Pensions Board, Mr Usman Tinau Mohammed, a former Commissioner for Information in the state, Mr Mohammed Gunu, Mr Abraham Umar, Mr Habila Galadima, Malam Kabir Abbas, Mr Sani Lafia and Dr Emmanuel K Umar.
The oath of office and allegiance were administered on the new commissioners by Justice Bilkisu Gambo Yussuf at the council chambers of the Government House in Minna on Wednesday.
Governor Bello did not immediately assign portfolios to the new commissioners but asked them to hit the ground running because the administration is already winding down.
“You are coming at a critical time in the life of this administration. This government is actually winding down, but some of you have a lot of rich experiences to share with this cabinet,” he said, adding that they should therefore “see this as an opportunity to serve well. After this, if you do well, it will open better opportunities for you in the future”.
According to the governor, “Our decision to make you part of this government today is based on recommendations we have received so far about you.”
The new commissioners immediately after the swearing-in joined their older colleagues for their first executive council meeting.

Related Articles