Ondo Assembly Confirms 14 Commissioner-nominees


Fidelis David in Akure

The Ondo State House of Assembly has ratified the appointment of 14 new commissioners appointed by the state Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu.

Akeredolu had on November 16 nominated 14 new commissioners-designate and seven special advisers, where he also appointed his son, Mr. Babajide Akeredolu, as the director-general, Performance and Project Implementation Monitoring Unit (PPIMU).

The newly confirmed nominees are: Hon Fatai Olotu, Dr. Julianah Osadahun, Mrs. Bamidele Ademola Olateju, Mr. Adefarati Adegboyega, Mr. Dele Ologun, and Mr. Sunday Adekunle Akinwalere.

Others are: Razak Obe, Dr. Banji Ajaka, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Mrs. Yetunde Adeyanju, Mr. Femi Agagu, and Mr. Wale Akinlosotu.

A letter of request for the confirmation of the appointment of the 14 commissioners signed by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Princess Oladunni Odu, had earlier been forwarded to the House.

While presenting the report of the selection committee at plenary yesterday, the Deputy Speaker, Mr. Aderoboye, Samuel said: “The 14 nominees had been screened and found competent to serve as commissioners in Ondo State.”

Speaking after the confirmation of the nominees, the Speaker, Oleyelogun Bamidele, congratulated the newly confirmed commissioners, who he said were appointed on the basis of their track records, urging them to work with the state governor to enhance the delivery of democracy dividends to the people of the state.

In their vote of thanks, Mr. Femi Agagu, Mr. Aribo Oyato and Razak Obe pledged to join hands with the governor to impact positively on the lives of the people and add value to the instrumentality of governance in the state.