Insecurity: Kano Shuts down Tertiary Institutions


Ibrahim Shuaibu

The Kano State Government has directed the immediate closure of some tertiary institutions in the State.

The State Commissioner for Higher Education, Dr Mariya Mahmoud Bunkure, announced this in a statement made available to THISDAY on Saturday in Kano .

The statement said the schools include: PMK College of Advance and Remedial Studies Tudun Wada, School of Environmental Studies Gwarzo, School of Rural Technology and Entrepreneurship Development (SORTED) Rano and Audu Bako College of Agriculture Development (ABCOAD), Dambatta.

The statement reads: “With this instruction, all students of the affected schools are advised to vacate the Campuses as soon as possible’’.

Recall that on Friday, the government ordered the closure of 12 boarding secondary schools on the outskirts of the metropolis over increasing abduction of students in some northern states by bandits.

Mr Muhammad Sunusi Kiru who disclosed this in a short audio message announced on radio stations in the state, said the closure became necessary due to the rising number of abduction of school children in neighboring states.

The closed schools are located in Ajingi, Sumaila, Jogana, Kafin Maiyaki and Gaya, among others.