Buhari Nominates Olonisakin, Buratai, Two Ex-Service Chiefs as Ambassadors


Deji Elumoye in Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated former Chief of Defence Staff (CDS), Gen. Abayomi Olonisakin (rtd), the other three retired service chiefs and another retired senior Air Force officer as non-career Ambassadors-Designate.

In a letter to the President of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, the president, according to a release by his media adviser, Femi Adesina, stated that: “In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under listed five names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.

“The nominees are: General Abayomi G. Olonisakin (rtd ), Lt. Gen. Tukur Y. Buratai (rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (rtd), and Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (rtd).”

The president urged the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations.