Akeredolu Wins APC Primary in Ondo


James Sowole in Akure

The incumbent Governor of Ondo State, Mr. Oluwatotimi Akeredolu has won the primary election of the All Progressives Congress (APC) to emerge the party’s candidate for the October 2020 governorship election in the state.

Akeredolu popularly called Aketi, defeated seven other aspirants that contested against him after four other aspirants stepped down to support his second term project.

The four aspirants that stepped down for Akeredolu are Mr. Ife Oyedele, Mr. Jimmy Odinmayo, Mr. Nathaniel Ojutelegan and Mr. Olusegun Abraham.

The primary was held amidst tight security provided by men of the Nigeria Police from Kogi and Ondo states, men and officers of the Department of State Services (DSS) and the, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC).

In the results of the primary announced this early morning by the Governor of Kogi State, Mr. Yahaya Bello, Akeredolu won in all the 18 local government areas.

Announcing the results, Bello said 33 invalid votes were recorded.

Giving the details of votes scored by the aspirants, Bello said Akeredolu scored 2, 458 votes while Mr. Olusola Oke came a distant second with 262 votes.

Other results are: Mr. Isaacs Kekemeke, (19); Iji Olusola, (nine); Adelami Olayide, (four); Akinseyinwa Awodeyi, (one).