Covid-19: Court Convicts 14 for Flouting Stay-at-home Order in Osun


By Yinka Kolawole

No fewer than 14 persons were on Wednesday convicted and sentenced to prison by an Osun State Magistrate’s Court for breaching the coronavirus regulations in the state.

The convicts are Adeoye Johnson, Ibrahim Babatunde, Akinloye Lukman, Owolabi Afeez, Hammed Basharu, Akinwande Saheed, Seun Agboola, Aribidesi Muideen, Sulaimon Ismail, Olaleye Moses, Alade Mayowa, Muniru Bashiru, Sulaiman Basaru and Omodele Titilayo.

The presiding Magistrate, Dr O. A Ayilara, convicted all the accused persons on self admittance.

The Police Prosecutor, Inspector Adeoye Kayode, had told the court that the convicts committed the offence on April 8, 2020 at about 11:30 in Osogbo, the Osun State capital.

Kayode further explained that the convicts disobeyed the state government lockdown and stay-at-home order.

The prosecutor added that the convicts did conduct themselves in a manner likely to cause a breach of the peace by deliberately failing to comply with the state government’s lockdown/stay-at-home order.

He said the offence was contrary to and punishable under Section 203 and 249(D) of the Criminal Code Cap 34 Vol. Il Laws of Osun State of Nigeria 2002.

The accused persons pleaded guilty to a two-count charge of disobedience to lockdown order and conduct likely to cause a beech of the peace slammed against them.

Handling down his ruling, Magistrate Ayilara convicted and sentenced them to two months imprisonment or pay a sum of N5,000 each.