Kano Assembly Suspends 5 Members over Last Week’s Rowdy Session


By Ibrahim Shuaibu

Kano State House of Assembly Monday suspended five of its members for six months over last week’s rowdy session in the house.

The Speaker of the House, Mr Abdulazeez Garba Gafasa, who announced the suspension of the members at the resumption of the House sitting, said the members were suspended for misconduct and violation of the rules of the house.

“The five members were suspended for violating the rules of the house especially Order IV Sub 4 a, b, d and e disrupted the sittings of the house and prevented proceedings from going on.

“They behaved violently and even attempted to snatch away the mace in a clear attempt to sabotage the sitting of the house,” Gafasa said.

Members suspended include, Garba Yau-Gwarmai, APC representing Kunchi/Tsanyawa Constituency, Labaran Abdul Madari, APC representing Warawa Constituency, and Isyaku Ali Danja, PDP representing Gezawa Constituency.

The other two members are Mohammed Bello, APC representing Rimin gado/Tofa constituency, and Salisu Ahmed-Gwangwazo, PDP representing Kano Municipal respectively.

Our correspondent in Kano recalled that at last week Monday’s sitting of the house, some members attempted to disrupt the sitting.

The attempt followed an attempt by the Chairman of an ad-hoc committee constituted to investigate the former Emir of Kano, Muhammad Sanusi ll, to present its report.

The legislators when they sensed a move by the committee Chairman, the Deputy Speaker, Alhaji Hamisu Chidari to read an observation two days before the deadline, a member representing Dala Constituency, Alhaji Hussaini Lawal rejected the attempt.

Immediately, other PDP members and some APC legislators protested and also rejected the attempt, which caused the fracas, a situation that led to physical combat among some members.