Breaking: Gbajabiamila Emerges House Speaker

Femi Gbajabiamila

Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila (APC, Lagos) has been elected Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Gbajabiamila, backed by the ruling All Progressives Congress, defeated his challenger Hon. Umar Bago (APC, Niger).

Gbajabiamila scored 281 votes while Bago polled 76 votes. 358 members voted.

More details shortly…