PSC Promotes Mba, 8,915 Others


Kingsley Nwezeh in Abuja

The Police Service Commission (PSC) has said it has approved the promotion of 8,916 senior police officers to their next substantive ranks to fill existing vacancies.

Among those promoted is the Force Public Relations Officer, Frank Mba. He was promoted from the rank of Assistant Commissioner of Police to Deputy Commissioner of Police.

The commission said the promotions were the high points of its fifth plenary meeting held in Abuja on March 26, and 27, 2019 which was presided over by its Chairman, Musiliu Smith.

Details of the promotion were contained in a statement issued in Abuja yesterday by the commission’s spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani.

It read: “The commission approved the promotion of three Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police. They are; Jona Jackson Mava; Olushola Babajide David and Titus Sumba Larmode.

“The acting appointments of two Commissioners of Police were also confirmed. The beneficiaries are; Rudolf Echebi Obe, Works; and Danladi B. Lalas, Air Wing.

“71 Assistant Commissioners of Police were elevated to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police and tsael M. Masomene; Egbe Eko Edum; Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu; Dauda I. Ayuba; Chinedu C. Ugwu; Moses Gana; Victor Akongtender Bepeh; Aminu Musa; Danjuma Madugu; Promise Chinedu Udeh; Anthony Okon Placio; Ikechukwu E. Nwosu; Okey C. Nwabufo; Ayodeji A. Dagunduro; Kanu Kanu Okoronkwo (works); Agbo B. Usman (forensic); Mustapha A. Rufai; among others.”

The statement continues: “The commission also promoted 487 Deputy Superintendents of Police to Superintendents. The new Superintendents of Police include Atiku Ibrahim, Personal Assistant to the acting Inspector General of Police; Florence Odewo; Ojo Abraham; Mohammed Idris and Abraham Ogedengbe.

“1,165 Assistant Superintendents of Police, ASPs, were promoted to the next rank of Deputy Superintendents of Police, DSP, while 7086 Inspectors were elevated to Assistant Superintendents of Police.

“Some of the new DSPs are: Chinemelum Bartholomew of the Complaints Response Unit, Force Headquarters, Abuja; Jeremiah Zumnan; Adewale Ajibuwa while Hope Nnah of Abia Command; Saviour Etetim made the list of the newly promoted Inspectors to ASPs.”

The promotions according to the commission will be conveyed through a letter to the Ag. IG Mohammed Adamu on Monday, April 1, 2019.

The letter is signed by the Permanent Secretary and Secretary to the Commission, Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri.