Buhari Approves Inter-ministerial Presidential Inauguration Committee

Muhammadu Buhari

Olawale Ajimotokan in Abuja

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the Constitution of the 2019 Presidential Inauguration Committee.

A statement issued last night by the Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Olusegun A. Adekunle, said the terms of reference of the committee include planning, organising and executing all approved activities for the 2019 presidential inauguration.

Adekunle also said the committee is also at liberty to co-opt any organisation or person relevant towards the successful execution of the programme.

It is also to document for posterity, all planned activities for the inauguration in addition to any other assignment as may be required towards the successful implementation of the programme.

The committee, which will be inaugurated on Thursday, March 14, is to be chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha.

Other members include the Minister of Information and Culture; Minister of Interior; Minister of Foreign Affairs; Minister of FCT and Minister of Defence.

Also on the committee are the Minister of Health; Minister of Education; Minister of State (Aviation); National Chairman, All Progressives Congress; Inspector General of Police; Director General, Department State Services; Commander, Brigade of Guards; Permanent Secretary (State House); and Permanent Secretary (General Services Office). The

Permanent Secretary (Political and Economic Affairs Office) will serve as the Secretary.

In a related development Buhari has also approved the constitution of the Policies, Programmes and Projects Audit Committee.

A separate statement issued by Adekunle said the mandate of the committee is to audit and determine the status of implementation of policies, programmes and projects either inherited or commenced by the out-going Administration.

It is to also identify and highlight a residue of works and challenges that may militate against their successful implementation and prepare and produce a detailed working document that would guide the incoming cabinet members on the direction of government regarding policies, programmes and projects.

The committee is to be chaired by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

Other members include the Chief of Staff to the President; Head of Civil Service of the Federation and Minister of Budget and National Planning; and his colleagues from Finance, Power, Industry, Trade and Investment.

Others include the Attorney General of the Federation; Minister of Transportation; Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development; Governor, Central Bank; and National Security Adviser.