APGA Wins 24 of 30 Assembly Seats in Anambra

By David-Chyddy Eleke in Awka

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) has won 26 of the 30 seats in the Anambra State House of Assembly.

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won six of the seats, leaving the All Progressives Congress (APC) and other political parties in the state without any seat.

The duo of the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige and the senator representing Anambra South zone and state Shairman, President Buhari Campaign Council, Senator Andy Uba, failed to win any seat for the APC.

Ngige and Uba lost their state constituencies to candidates of the APGA.

The Speaker of Anambra State House of Assembly, Hon. Rita Maduagwu, who is of APGA, however in a surprise twist failed to win back her seat as she was defeated by the candidate of the PDP.

Maduagwu had earlier lost the ticket of the party during the APGA primary elections, but the leaders of the party had allegedly foisted her on the people as the candidate.

Meanwhile, the vice-presidential candidate of the PDP, Mr Peter Obi, delivered his state constituency to his party as Ebele Ejiofor, the party’s candidate, was said to have been declared winner of the Anaocha 1 state constituency.

PDP also added Ogbaru I, Ogbaru II, Ekwusigo, Onitsha North 1 and Nnewi South 11 state constituencies to its seats, while all the others were won by APGA.

Prior to the election, rumour had gone round that PDP was angling to win greater number of seats, in the hope to use the state assembly members to remove Governor Willie Obiano, who was widely acknowledged to have worked against the party during the presidential election.

This had forced Obiano to double strength, leading to his holding a mega rally to canvas for votes for candidates of APGA, insisting that anything to the contrary would breed trouble in the state.

Related Articles