Finally, INEC Declares PDP Winner of Plateau North Senatorial Election


Seriki Adinoyi in Jos

Following serious pressure from various quarters in Plateau State, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has finally declared Istifanus Dung Gyang of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) the winner of the last Saturday’s election in Plateau North senatorial zone in Plateau State.

Declaring the result, Collation and Returning Officer for the Plateau North Senatorial district, Professor Christopher Vande, said the PDP candidate polled a total of 269,555 votes, defeating the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Rufus Bature, who polled 171,233 votes.

The electoral commission had delayed the announcement of the results claiming it was due to irregularities recorded in Tudun Wada/Kabon ward, a stronghold of the PDP with about 93,000 registered voters.

The development had generated reactions and tension across the state, with the PDP and other groups, including the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) and Civil Society Organisations (CSOs) urging INEC to exhibit transparency to prevent violence in the state.

The electoral body eventually declared it yesterday evening thereby easing off the tension that pervaded the air in the state.

It, however, declared the Jos North/Bassa Federal Constituency poll inconclusive over the same Tudun Wada/Kabong ward result.

The Collation and Returning Officer for the constituency, Professor Francis Kwese announced that in the Jos north/Bassa Federal constituency, the APC candidate polled 114,705, while the PDP candidate polled 89,262.

He, however, said the election was inconclusive because Tundun Wada/Kabong ward results were cancelled, and a re-run will be scheduled by INEC at a later date.

Earlier yesterday, INEC had issued a statement declaring that Dimka Hezekiah Ayuba, candidate of the APC won the Plateau Central senatorial zone, a position that was immediately rejected by the PDP.

INEC said, Ayuba, a former Police Commissioner, polled 149,457 to defeat Paradang David Shikfu, a former Comptroller of Nigeria Immigration Service, of the PDP, who scored 145,048 votes.

The statement by INEC’s Voter Education and Publicity head, Mr. Osaretin Imahiyereobo also disclosed that the Plateau South senatorial election was declared inconclusive, while results for Plateau North Senatorial election was still yet to be declared.

Other results declared in the statement are those for Pankshin/Kanke/Kanam Federal Constituency won by Yusuf Adamu Gagdi of the APC; Shendam/Mikan/Quan’pan Federal Constituency, won by Longgap Komsol Alphonsus of the APC; Wase Federal Constituency won by Idris Ahmed also of the APC.

The Barkin-Ladi/Riyom Federal Constituency was won by Simon Davou Mwadkwon of the PDP; Jos South/Jos East Federal Constituency, won by Dachung Musa Bagos of the PDP; Mangu/Bokkos Federal Constituency won by Solomon Maren Bulus of the PDP; and Langtang North/Langtang South Federal Constituencywon by Beni Lar of the PDP.

Meanwhile, Plateau State Governorship candidate of the PDP, Plateau State, Gen. Jeremiah Useni (rtd) has led all PDP senatorial and House of Representatives candidates in a protest to the INEC Headquarters in Jos to urge the commission to declare the remaining results Plateau North Senatorial zone and Bassa Jos North Federal Constituency without further delay.