Buhari Leads Atiku in Sokoto

Buhari Vs Atiku

Onuminya Innocent in Sokoto

President Muhammadu Buhari of All Progressives Congress (APC) has won in 17 Local Government Areas (LGAs) out of 21 LGAs declared by Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Sokoto.

The Returning Officer, Prof. Yahuza Bello who is the Vice Chancellor of Bayero University, announced the results.

He said Buhari garnered 445,127 votes against Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 328,411 votes.

Also, the senatorial candidate of APC, Senator Aliyu Wamakko has been re-elected to represent Sokoto North senatorial district.

Announcing the result, the Returning Officer, Prof. Atiku Garba Yahaya who is the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Academics, Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto, said Wamakko polled 172,989 votes to defeat his closest rival, Senator Ahmad Muhammad Maccido who polled 52,148 votes .

Wamakko won in five out of eight LGAs that made up the senatorial district.

The LGAs won by Wamakko include: Wamakko, Kware, Sokoto North, Sokoto South and Tangaza while the PDP candidate won in Silame, Binji and Guru.

In another development, the APC candidate, Hon. Bala Hassan Abubakar 111 has been declared by INEC as a winner of Sokoto North /Sokoto South Federal Constituency seat.

Declaring the results, the Returning Officer, Prof. Aminu Mohammed, said the APC candidate polled 71,486 votes to defeat his PDP candidate, Hon. Abdullahi Abubakar Ahmad, who scored 52, 148 votes.