Atiku Leads in Imo


Amby Uneze in Owerri

The candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, is leading his counterpart in All Progressives Congress (APC), Muhammadu Buhari, in 21 out of the 23 local government areas so far declared in Imo State. Four local governments are yet to be declared.

The result for Nkwerre that was earlier declared for Buhari was changed when it was discovered that 1000 votes was added to the score. Instead of 5,161 the officer wrote 6,161 while the result of PDP remains at 5,819, putting PDP ahead of APC.

Buhari won in Oru East and Ideato South where the governorship candidate of the party, Hope Uzodinma, and governor Rochas Okorocha, respectively, hail from.

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Benjamin Chukwuma Ozumba, who is the Vice Chancellor of University of Nigeria, Nsukka, announced the results as follows:

Oru West

PDP. 9293

APC 4831

Ideato South

PDP 8844

APC 20663


PDP 8721

APC 6610

Owerri North

PDP 17136

APC 1739


PDP 5716

APC 2431


PDP 9397

APC 7445

Ahiazu Mbaise

PDP 18866

APC 2727


PDP 2996

APC 2296


PDP 8673

APC 6487

Oru east

PDP 6407

APC 10383


PDP 7803

APC 4233

Ezinihitte Mbaise

PDP 21605

APC 3185


PDP 5819

APC 5161

Owerri municipal

PDP 12528

APC 1397

Ngor Okpalla

PDP 13412

APC 4058


PDP 11292

APC 5875

Owerri West

PDP 16002

APC 3173

Aboh Mbaise

PDP 33476

APC 5789

Ehime Mbano

PDP 14669

APC 7784


PDP 11660

APC 4573


PDP 20302

APC 4708


PDP 18433

APC 5382

Isiala Mbano

PDP 11804

APC 3965