Amosun, Nnamani, Shekarau, Al-Makura, Abba Moro Win Senatorial Seats


Femi Ogbonnikan in Abeokuta, George Okoh in Makurdi, Emma Ukumba in Lafia, Christopher Isiguzo and Gideon Arinze in Enugu

The Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Governor Umaru Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa State; a former Governor of Enugu State, Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani, and a former Minister of Interior, Abba Moro, have emerged the winners of senatorial seats in their respective states.

INEC has also declared the APC senatorial candidate for Kano Central district, Malam Ibrahim Shekarau as the elected Senator for the zone.

Amosun won the Ogun Central senatorial district seat. The All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate defeated the candidate of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), Mrs. Titi Oseni-Gomez who got 37,101 votes.

While announcing the results yesterday, the Returning officer for Ogun Central district, Prof Idris Akanbi, disclosed that Amosun polled 88,110 votes while Oseni-Gomez got 37,101 votes. Ogun Central senatorial district is made up of six local government areas.

Al-Makura defeated the incumbent senator representing Nasarawa South senatorial district, Suleiman Adokwe, to win the district’s seat in the National Assembly.

The governor edged out the incumbent senator by 8,561 votes.

Al-Makura, who contested the state’s southern senatorial district seat on the platform of the APC, polled a total of 113,156 votes to beat his rival, Adokwe, of the PDP, who scored 104,495 votes.

The returning officer for the senatorial election, Professor Mohammed Kida of the Federal University, Lafia announced the result in Lafia, the state capital.

Moro also emerged the winner of the Benue South senatorial seat.

Announcing the results yesterday in Otukpo, the Returning Officer, Professor Aunde Anune said that Moro of the PDP polled 85,162 to defeat the candidate of the APC, Steven Lawani who scored 47,972.

Moro would be succeeding Senator David Mark who has been in the senate since 1999.

Nnamani, the candidate of PDP for Enugu East senatorial zone was declared the winner of last Saturday’s National Assembly election.

He scored a total of 128,843 votes to defeat his closest rival, Lawrence Ezeh, who garnered 14,225 votes while Uchenna Agbo of APGA came third with 1,586 votes.

Shekarau, a former Governor of Kano state, contested for the seat under the APC in the presidential and National Assembly elections held on February 23.

Announcing the results yesterday at the collation Centre, the Returning Officer for the district, Prof. Adamu Alhaji-Samaila said Shekarau scored 506, 271 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Aliyu Sani-Madawakingini who polled 276, 768 votes.