Buhari Wins Six more LGs in Niger


President Muhammadu Buhari and the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won in six more local government areas of Niger State in the just concluded presidential election.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reported that the collation was being presided over by Prof. Anjela Freeman Mary of the Federal University, Lokoja, at the INEC office, Minna.

Buhari defeated the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) presidential candidate, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, in six more local council areas of Niger State.

Buhari had earlier won in Munya, Edati, Bosso, Gurara, Rafi and Suleja  Local Government Areas.

Prof. Jonathan Isa, collation officer, Tafa Local Government Area, said Atiku scored 12,778 votes, while Buhari scored 15,176 votes cast during the February 23, presidential and National Assembly elections.

Prof. Kassim Isa, collation officer, Agura Local Government Area, said that Buhari scored 8,811 votes, while Atiku scored 5,588 votes.

Prof. Yusuf Abubakar, collation officer, Magama Local Government Area, said that Buhari scored 22,529 votes, while Atiku scored 1,501 votes.

Dr Jibril Altahiru, collation officer, Paikoro Local Government Area, said Atiku scored 12,494 votes, while Buhari scored  24,690 votes

Prof. Jonathan Kolo, collation officer, Chanchaga Local Government Area, said Buhari scored 62,707, while Atiku scored 14,220 votes.

For Shiroro LGA, Buhari scored 29,213, while Atiku scored 10,212 as announced by Prof. Ishaya Gamba, the collation officer for the council.

The presiding officer announced that collation of more results will resume later on Monday. (NAN)