Buhari Wins Nasarawa


By Emmanuel Ukumba in Lafia

President Muhammadu Buhari has won the presidential election in Nasarawa State for the first time since 2003.

Buhari defeated his closet rival, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, the presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) by 6,056 votes.

Results collated by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Nasarawa State office in Lafia showed that President Buhari polled 289,903 votes to defeat Atiku Abubakar who scored 283,847votes.

A breakdown of the result as announced by the Returning Officer for the presidential election in the state, Prof. Azuibike Nwankwo of the Nigeria Defence Academy (NDA), showed that out of the 13 local government areas of the state, President Buhari won eighth, while Atiku Abubakar took the remaining five.

The outcome of the 2019 presidential election marked the first time the PDP will lose Nasarawa State in a presidential election since the return of democracy in 1999.

The president got his highest number of votes in Lafia, the state capital, where he polled 55,254, while Atiku got his highest votes in Karu Local Government after polling 49,292.