26 APC Ogun Assembly Candidates Seek Oshiomhole’s Recognition

Adams Oshiomhole, APC National Chairman

Femi Ogbonnikan in Abeokuta

The newly elected 26 candidates of the Ogun State House of Assembly on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have appealed to the national leadership of the party to urgently wade into their plight and do the needful by giving them the Party Candidate Form (CF001) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to fill and submit, so that they could participate in the upcoming 2019 general elections.

The APC House of Assembly candidates, at a press conference held at NUJ Centre, Abeokuta, the state capital, yesterday, noted that the deadline for the submission of names and particulars of candidates for the election to INEC had lapsed on Friday, November 2, 2018, without any of them who won the primaries given the form, while they said the situation remains the same till date.

According to them, “You will recall that on October 07, 2018, the members of the APC in Ogun State trooped out to participate in the primary election into the Senate, the House of Representatives and the Ogun State House of Assembly.

“The elections were supervised by the State Election Committee set up by the National Working Committee of the APC. The Chairman of the Committee was Col. Ali Chiroma (Rtd).

“The primary elections took place in all the 236 electoral wards of Ogun State. And shortly after the completion of the exercise, the results of the elections were accordingly announced by the Chairman.

“The 26 of us here present were announced as winners in our respective State House of Assembly constituencies. A copy of the result as announced by Col. Chiroma, is hereby presented for your attention.

“Those of us here present are members of the (APC) who won the primary election and emerged as candidates of the party for the Ogun State House of Assembly”.

However, the APC candidates pleaded with the national secretariat that conducted the primary election to declare the results of the exercise, that are in their possession to enable all of them fill form CF001 so that they could be issued certificates as the winners of the direct primary elections without further delay.

“We are therefore appealing to Nigerians and all men and women of goodwill, to impress it upon the APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomole, to respect the mandates freely given to us by members of the APC in Ogun State.”