Masari Picks Katisina APC Guber Ticket, Lado Emerges PDP Candidate

Aminu Bello Masari

By Francis Sardauna in Katsina

Governor Aminu Bello Masari of Katsina State and Senator Yakubu Lado Danmarke on Sunday emerged as the gubernatorial candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) respectively for the 2019 governorship election.

Governor Masari polled 5,562 votes out of 5,959 delegates that participated in the election to defeat President Muhammadu Buhari’s son-in law, Abubakar Sama’ila Isa, who secured eight votes.

The APC Electoral Committee Chairman in the state, Dr. Isa Adamu, who announced the results of the exercise said: “Masari secured 5,562 votes, Abubakar Sama’ila Isa polled eight votes, while Garba Dankani Sani one vote. Invalid votes 56.”

Adamu, while lauding the delegates for displaying maturity, said: “By the power vested in me as the chairman of the electoral committee, I hereby return Masari as the duly elected gubernatorial candidate of the APC for Katsina State governorship election, having scored the highest number of votes cast in this election.”

Addressing APC faithful shortly after the announcement of the result, Governor Masari appreciated the delegates, security personnel and members of the electoral panel, saying this accounted for success of the poll.

He urged those who lost the election and party members to immediately put the primary behind them and rally in his support to enable the party win the gubernatorial seat in 2019.

In a related development,  Senator Yakubu Lado Danmarke was on Sunday elected as the governorship candidate of the PDP in Katsina state.

Announcing the result of the exercise at the party’s headquarters on Monday morning, the Electoral Committee Chairmann, Senator Bala Adamu, said Damarke scored the highest votes defeat six other aspirants. He scored 3,385 votes to emerge the party’s standard bearer.

“Looking at the numbers of votes scored by each of the six contesters, I affirmed that Yakubu Lado Danmarke who scored the highest votes of 3,385 is hereby declared as the winner of this election. I wish him success in his ambition.”