Three DELSU Faculties Get Full Accreditation


Omon-Julius Onabu in Asaba

There was excitement at the Delta State Executive Council recently following the announcement that three faculties of the State University (DELSU), the Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Law and the College Health Sciences have been granted full accreditation by the National Universities Commission (NUC).

The Commissioner for Information, Mr. Patrick Ukah told journalists in Asaba that the Commissioner for Higher Education, Mr. Jude Sinebe disclosed this during the EXCO meeting presided over by Governor Ifeanyi Okowa.

“With the accreditation which is full and for a period of five years, students in the affected faculties have nothing to fear anymore since all processes relating to the exercise have been completed with the NUC giving its nod,” Ukah said.

The commissioner for higher education on behalf of the ministry, council and management of the institution, thanked the governor for his support towards the successful completion of the accreditation exercise.

Okowa has promised that the state government will continue to scale up in its efforts to bridge the infrastructural deficit especially in about 1,600 schools in the primary and post-primary education sector, within the financial resources available.

Meanwhile, Okowa has approved the reconstitution of the State Post Primary Education Board (PPEB) according to a statement by the Secretary to the State Government, Festus Ovie Agas.

The statement listed members of the new board, which takes immediate effect, to include Mrs. Christiana Ataluku, who is the Chairman, while Mrs. Ifeoma Agbomah and Dr. Henry Offa are members.