Ekiti, Kwara Set up Joint Committes on Boundary Dispute

  • Fayose, Ahmed caution against violence
ByVictor Ogunje in Ado Ekiti
Following the violence that erupted at the border towns of Eda Oniyo in Ekiti State and Obbo Ayegunle of Kwara State, where eight people were wounded weekend, the Ekiti and Kwara States have resolved to set up joint committees to put an end to the boundary disputes between the two towns.
While Eda Oniyo is located in Ilejemeje Local Government area of Ekiti State, Obbo Ayegunle community is in Ekiti Local Government area of Kwara State.
No fewer than eight people were wounded last weekend when youths in the two towns engaged each other with dangerous weapons over lingering boundary dispute between the neighbouring towns.
Ekiti State Governor Ayodele Fayose made the disclosure Wednesday during a peace parley involving the leadership of the two communities, the representatives of the Kwara State government and the Commissioners of Police from the two states,
at the Government House Pavilion in Ado Ekiti.
Fayose said that the six-member committee will turn in its report within two weeks. He however mandated the two warring communities not to visit the piece of land causing the dispute until the committee has finished its work.
Details later…