Okowa Drops Health, Tourism Commissioners in Cabinet Reshuffle


Omon-Julius Onabu in Asaba

The Delta State Commissioner for Health, Dr. Nicholas Azinge, was one of the casualties following a reshuffling of Governor Ifeanyi Okowa’s cabinet described as “minor.”

The government disclosed this in a statement signed by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Festus Ovie Agas, released thursday.

Okowa also reassigned four commissioners’ portfolios, moving them them to new ministries respectively.
Also relieved of his portfolio is Chief Dan Okenyi of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

Those reassigned are Mr Asupa Forteta, formerly of the Directorate of Youths Development, now heads the Urban Renewal Directorate; Chief Karo Ilolo, formerly of Directorate of Urban Renewal Directorate now takes charge of the Youths Development Directorate.

Others are Mr. Bright Edejewhro, formerly of Local Government Affairs Directorate now heads Ministry of Science and Technology and Mr. Joyce Overah of the Ministry of Science and Technology now moves to Local Government Affairs Directorate.

“The decision to reshuffle the cabinet is in line with the state government’s desire to re-energise the machinery of government and bring new impetus into service delivery”, the Chief Press Secretary (CPS), Mr. Charles Aniagwu, explained.

Nonetheless, the statement by SSG thanked the two commissioners relieved of their portfolios for their “commitment and contributions to the SMART Agenda” and wished them /”success in their future endeavours”.
The statement noted that “the cabinet reshuffle takes effect from Thursday, February 8, 2018.”