Pakoto, Gateway Win GTBank Ogun State Principals Cup


Pakoto High School and Iko Gateway Grammar School have emerged as 2017 champions of the GTBank- Ogun State Principals Cup Season 5 in the boys and girls categories respectively after a pulsating final at the MKO Abiola Stadium in Abeokuta on Thursday.
Playing before top dignitaries which included Governor Ibikunle Amosun and his wife, GTBank Managing Director, Segun Agbaje and the Alake of Egbaland, Oba Adetotun Aremu Gbadebo, both finals ended in stalemate and were determined by penalty kicks.
In the boys’ final, Pakoto High School who won the competition in 2015 defeated Ipara Community Secondary School, Ipara, 4-1 on penalties after the game ended 1-1 during regulation time.

In the female’ category, two time winners, Muslim High School, Isolu, were denied a third trophy as Iko Gateway Grammar School, Idiroko, came from behind to win 3-2 on penalties.
Muslim High shot into the lead in the first half but Iko Gateway scored a late equaliser to end the game 1-1.
Winners in both categories were rewarded with the sum of N1,000,000 each, while the 1st ,2nd, 3rd runners-up got N750,000, N500,000, and N350,000 respectively.
Commenting on the finals, the MD/CEO of  GTBank , Segun Agbaje, said, “We are proud to lead this initiative that provides an avenue for students to showcase their talents and passion for the game of football even as they remain committed to their academics.”