Katsina @30: Yar’Adua, IBB, Ex-military Governors to Receive Awards


By Ibrahim Shuaibu in Katsina

As part of activities marking the 30th anniversary of the creation of Katsina State, late President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua and former head of state, Gen. Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida will Friday receive awards in Katsina for their contribution to the creation of the state.

Addressing reporters in his office on the activities of the celebration, the Secretary to the State Government, Dr. Mustapha Inuwa, explained that apart from being governor between 1999 and 2007, late Yar’Adua would be honoured along with late Alhaji Wada Nas and 15 others for their efforts which culminated in the creation of the state.

Inuwa said Gen. Abdullahi Sarki Mukhtar was the pioneer military governor who served between 1987 and August 1988 and would be among those to receive an award of honour, while a former Minister of Agriculture, Alhaji Sani Zangon Daura, are among several other prominent persons slated to receive awards on Friday.

According to him, in the list of awardees are also all former military governors of the state, the pioneer civilian governor, Alhaji Saidu Barda, and indigenes of Katsina who had served as governors of other states.

Other recipients are former Nigeria’s security chiefs of Katsina origin including the late Inspector General of Police, M.D. Yusuf, late Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Mohammed Bello, as well as former President, Federal Court of Appeal, Justice Mamman Nasir, among others.

Details later…