Okowa’s Aide Awards Scholarship to Delta Students


In a bid to give back to the society and as an expression of his philanthropic disposition, an aide on Special Duties (Media) to the Delta State Governor, Mr. Ossai Ovie Success has awarded scholarships to indigenes of the state studying at his alma mater, College of Education, Warri.

He awarded the scholarship during the Master and Miss COEWA 2017 competition, where Sandra Izebuokhale emerged as the winner during the Urhobo Cultural Day.

According to him: “Today I am privileged to be the political aide to Delta State Governor; as a young boy growing up, I feel the pains of students seeing them struggling to fund their education, hence the need to assist the few students I can assist within my ability.

“I know how it feels facing educational challenges, I know how it feels when you have no money for your upkeep, I know how it feels when you are broke in school, I know how it feels when you are struggling in school.

“I will not stop helping the needy as long I am in the position to help them; it is all joy helping those who are in need. This scholarship is in line with Okowa’s SMART agenda of putting smile on the faces of students and Deltans at large”

Ossai added that in the past two years of the current administration, Deltans have witnessed unprecedented transformation in the education system.

“Okowa’s government has brought a positive development in the area of education. The education system needs our support as individuals. The government cannot do it all; we all need to invest in the system.” He urged the students to remain focused adding that with education, the future is bright.

The beneficiaries are Miss Bold and Beautiful, Temidayo Akinlusi; Miss Sosan, Favour Nwokeleme; Master Coewa 2017 second runner up, Mr. Marvelous Benjamin and incoming President of Urhobo Students Association led by Omosuvwe Endurance of Business Education.

The event was also attended by the Councillor representing Ovwian Ward 11 in Udu Local Government Area, Hon. Benjamin Sharta, who also awarded scholarship to Master COEWA, David Agamwonyi, Mr. Uyo Amos, Personal Assistant to the Rector of Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro, Rufus Perejitei, Francis Omovigho, Iyah Eduvie, Godspower Ovbije, Magrimor Ogheneovo, Precious Takufia, Tonia Oku, Egri Precious, Stephanie Owumi, Ilolo, among others.