ICAN Appoints Registrar/CEO, Two Others


The governing Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN) has appointed John Irabor Evbodaghe as its Registrar/ Chief Executive Officer.

The institute also appointed Dr. Ben Ukaegbu and Mukaila Lawalas Deputy Registrars respectively. The appointment took effect from August 1st, 2017.

According to a statement wednesday, Evbodaghe, an Accountancy graduate of the Institute of Management and Technology (IMT), Enugu, also holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree in Technology Management from Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi.

“Evbodaghe, a consummate professional whose experience cuts across various sectors of the Nigerian economy is a highly focused, purpose driven and versatile administrator well versed in operations and strategic management.

“He began his professional career with the firm of D. E. Ogona & Co (Chartered Accountants).from where he moved to the firm of Howarth Dafinone & Co (Chartered Accountants) in 1986. He worked briefly with Texaco Nigeria Limited (Now MRS Oil) from where he moved to the defunct Commerce Bank Plc in 1990 and later Magnum Trust Bank Limited (MTB), now part of Sterling Bank Plc as a foundation staff in1991. After six and half years with the bank, he left in 1997 to work with Process Consulting Group a (consulting outfit),” the statement added.

On the other hand, Ukaegbu, who is the new Deputy Registrar Technical Services, obtained a Masters’ degree in Accounting & Finance. He bagged his doctorate in Finance from the University of Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom. Prior to his post-graduate education, he had worked as an Accountant with the Nigeria High Commission, Edinburgh.

Lawal, is the new deputy Registrar Corporate services, attended the University of Lagos, where he graduated with a Second Class Honours in Accounting. He became a Chartered Accountant in 2001 having passed the final examinations of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria and satisfied other conditions. In Year 2012, he was conferred with the Fellowship status of the Institute.