Chamberlain Squash Open: Top Seed, Broekman, Survives an Upset


Tournament number two seed,  Mark Broekman, narrowly avoided crashing out of the ongoing 2017 Chamberlain Squash Open at the first hurdle yesterday, having to come from one game down to get past his opponent, Nigeria qualifier Abel Shadrack.
The Briton who is ranked 169 on the Professional Squash Association world ranking edged his opponent 11-7, 11-6, 11-6, 11-7.
Broekman had to dig deep before overcoming the youthful, Shedrack who booked his place in the main draw on Monday.
Meanwhile, quarter-finalists in the on-going Chamberlain Squash Open have emerged.
The last eight emerged after the final games in the main draws were decided yesterday at the Lagos Country Club in Ikeja.
The men qualifiers are; Tom Ford, Abdulrahman Lanre, Femi Shedara, Adegoke Onaopemipo, Babatunde Ajagbe, Sodiq Taiwo , Gabriel Olufunmilayo and Mark Broekman.
While, those who progressed in the women category include; Yemisi Olatunji, Okikiola Dunni, Kafayat Idris, Rofiat Abdulazeez, Udeme James, Veronica Sunday, Adebisi Adeleke and Longdi Dasbak.
Tom Ford beats Tittah Jamah 11-5, 11-5, 11-1; Lanre Abdulrahman beats Idowu Enimakure Lanre 11-7, 10-12, 12-10, 11-8. 
Femi Shedara beats Michael John 11-7, 11-3, 11-4; Adegoke Onaopemipo beats Bello Wasiu 6-11, 16-14, 11-8, 11-5.
Babatunde Ajagbe beats Endurance Omosor beats 11-3, 11-6, 11-6; Sodiq Taiwo 11-6, 12-10, 9-11, 11-8.
Gabriel Olufunmilayo beats Jonathan Peters 6-11, 10-12, 11-9, 11-7, 11-4; Women
Yemisi Olatunji beats Busayo Olatunji 11-7, 9-11, 11-8, 16-14; Omolola beats Kafayat Idris 7-11, 11-9, 10-12, 11-6, and 11-9.
Okikiola Dunni beats Kally Yashim 11-9, 11-6, 3-11, 11-10, 7-11; Rofiat Abdulazeez beats Ebifemi Taiwo 11-7, 11-5, 11-9.
Udeme James beats Yemisi Owokole 9-11, 11-5, 11-5, 11-7; Veronica Sunday beats Joy Mgbemene.
Adebisi Adeleke beats Rebecca Auta 12-10, 8-11, 11-5, 8-11, 11-6; Longdi Dasbak beats Yemisi Taiwo 12-10, 11-5, 11-3.
                              Quarter-Final Pairing
Men                                                                  Women
Tom Ford  vs Lanre Abdulrahman
Yemisi Olatunji  vs Okikiola Dunni
Femi Shedara  vs Adegoke Onaopemipo
Kafayat Idris  vs Rofiat Abdulazeez
Babatunde Ajagbe   vs Sodiq Taiwo
Udeme James  vs Veronica Sunday
Gabriel Olufunmilayo  vs   Mark Broekman
Adebisi Adeleke                                vs   Longdi Dasbak