UK Parliamentary Election: FG Congratulates Britons of  Nigerian Descent


Olawale Ajimotokan
The federal government has congratulated all the seven Britons of Nigerian ancestry, who won election to Westminster at the recent British parliamentary election.

The congratulatory letters were written by the Permanent Secretary, Political Affairs), Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF),  Olukunle Akindele.
Akindele described their victory as a reward for selfless service to their community and indeed humanity.

In a statement signed by Mohammed T. K. Nakorji, the Assistant Director, (Press) OSGF, Bamgbose said: “Like most Nigerians, I have followed your career keenly, and I am confident that in you, your community has made an excellent choice considering your track

record. Your election is heartwarming and will definitely be a source of inspiration to all Nigerians at home and in the Diaspora, particularly, women.”
He concluded by saying that the government of President Muhammadu Buhari and indeed, Nigerians, were proud of their achievement.

The elected MPs on the platform of Labour and Conservative Parties are: Kate Osamor, Edmonton; Chi-Chi Onwurah, Newcastle Central; Chuka Umunna, Streatham; Fiona Onasanya, Peterborough; Bim Afolami, Hitchen and Harpenden; Helen Grant, Maiden stone; and Olukemi Olufunto Badenoch, Saffron Walden.