Edo FA Honour for THISDAY Sports Editor, Others


Group Sports Editor of THISDAY, Duro Ikhazuagbe, is among sports personalities listed to be honoured by the Edo Football Association at a ceremony scheduled for the Excalibur Hotel, Benin City, on December 16.

The annual football awards initiated on assumption of office by the Frank Ilaboya-led Edo FA last year are meant to honour outstanding football personalities from the state and beyond.

Speaking about the honour, Ikhazuagbe said he was thrilled to be so recognized by his home state FA.

“I feel very honoured by the award coming from the Edo FA. I have received several awards in the course of my sports journalism career but this is the first from my home state FA. I treasure this award and it has a special place in my heart,” observed the THISDAY group sports editor.

Also to be honoured in the Media Persons of the Year category are outstanding journalists like Cecilia Omorogbe (Channels TV), Ben Ogbemudia (The Nation) and Benin-based broadcaster Eghosa Agbonlahor.

Veteran journalists Sam John and Akido Shittu scooped the Outstanding Media Personalities of Our Time awards while late ex-Eagles coaches Stephen Keshi and Amodu Shaibu alongside first Edo FIFA-badge referee Friday Omoruyi and Austin Allens would be given post-humous awards.

Nigerian football legend, Bright Omokaro, who is also listed for honour by the Edo FA also expressed his joy at being recognised years after quitting the stage.

“It’s a great thing to be honoured by my state FA. It’s an award that I will always cherish because I’m akin to a prophet honoured at home by his people,” the 1988 Africa Cup of Nations silver medalist said.
The former hard-as-nails Super Eagles defender Omokaro alongside ex-teammates Humphrey Edobor, Samson Ozogula, Sunday Eboigbe, Francis Moniedafe, Friday Elahor and Monday Eguavoen were shortlisted for the Outstanding Footballers of Our Time award.

Coaches Lawrence Akpokona, Dan Igiebor and Solomon Ogbeide are Outstanding Coaches of Our Time, while the 1985 U-17 World Cup winning Golden Eaglets were given the Evergreen Award.

Super Eagles forward Osaze Odemwingie scooped the Football Ambassador of Edo State 2016 award.
The Award Committee headed by Percy Okojie submitted nominees last Friday.