Defunct CPC Chairmen Angry with Buhari


Onyebuchi Ezigbo in Abuja
Some founding members and pioneer state chairmen of the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) have joined forces to demand that they be carried along by the President Muhammadu Buhari-led administration.

Apparently seeking the president’s patronage, the former party men urged him to remember that they were part of the struggle that culminated in his revolutionary victory at the polls in April 2015.

In a communiqué issued after a closed-door meeting in Abuja by 26 state chairmen of the defunct CPC, they called on Buhari to “remember the goose that laid the golden egg in the scheme of things.

“Specifically, we the undersigned are among the founding members and pioneer state chairmen of the defunct CPC, the only political party founded, established and owned purposely for the actualisation of the Buhari Presidency.

“As field commanders in the 16 year-old struggle for justice, sanity, accountability, transparent, sense of direction and genuine unity in Nigeria, we were the direct targets of and suffered from all forms of PDP brutalisation and repression from the beginning to the end of their mis-rule, particularly during general election when the prevention of rigging through the protection of votes was always our main pre-occupation.

“We are however, happy to note that our suffering in the struggle was not in vain or wasted but worthwhile and fruitful. The revolutionary victory at the polls in April 2015 was the culmination of that struggle.

“The meeting of the Legacy Forum was convened to retrospectively congratulate President Muhammadu Buhari for the victory. The beautiful performance of  Mr. President so far is invigorating and highly encouraging . It is indeed this performance that made it compelling for us to convene the meeting in order to acknowledge and appreciate as a forum of original stakeholders and founding members of the Buhari Project.”

Some of the defunct CPC chairmen at the meeting include: Hon. Ahamad Dan Zago from Kano, Sebastian Akpan from Akwa Ibom, Oko Agha Chris from Ebonyi, Francis Ikonomwan from Edo, Dr. Iheanacho from Abia, Dr. Mike N Wielaghi from Rivers and Mr. M. A Oderinde from Oyo, among others.

The communique made available to THISDAY read in part; “We, the undersigned are among the following members and original stakeholders of the movement of Buhari for President which dated back to year 2002, originating from the defunct All People’s Party (APP) which converted to All Nigeria People’s Party (ANPP) and later metamorphosed to Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) and finally merged with some other opposition political parties to form the present ruling party of the central government of Nigeria and in most states of the federation, the All Progressives Congress (APC).”