Commission Appoints 37 Commissioners of Police

  • Approves promotion, posting of AIGs

Dele Ogbodo in Abuja

The Police Service Commission has approved the appointment of 37 Commissioners and nine Deputy Commissioners of Police.

Also, it gave approval for the promotion of 18 Commissioners of Police (CPs) to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIGs) with 4 other AIGs.

A statement signed by Mr. Ikechukwu Ani, Head of Public Relations of the Commission, in Abuja, showed that 16 of these Commissioners retained their Commands.

They include: CP Peace Ibekwe Abdallah, Ebonyi; Emmanuel C. S. Ojukwu, Enugu; Frederick Taiwo Lakanu, Imo; Adeleye O. Oyebade, Oyo; Basen D. Gwana, Abia; Yunana Y. Babas, Taraba; Austine I. Iwar, Gombe; Murtala U. Mani, Akwa Ibom and Ajani Fatai Owoseni, Lagos. CP Henry Fadairo was also moved from Research and Planning to Jigawa State.

The statement further added that 12 of the AIGs are now to man the 12 Police zonal commands while the remaining 10 will head Police special formations such as Operations, Training, Police Academy, Info-Tech, Investment and Maritime.

The Commissioner of Police Kaduna State, Mr. Ibrahim Adamu, is now AIG, Zone 1, Abdulmajid Ali, CP, Ogun State, AIG, Zone 2 and Usman Tilli, AIG Border is now AIG zone 3, it added.

The only female in the pack, AIG Dorathy A. Gimba, retained her Command of the Investment Formation, AIG Mohammed K. Mohammed, SPU and Mohammed Musa Katsina moved from Maritime to DS, NIPSS. AIG Katsina will be replaced at the Maritime Desk by Paul Okafor, CP Benue State.

The Chairman of the Commission, Mr. Mike Okiro, in the statement said, the promotions and postings were in line with the Commission’s resolve to reposition the Nigeria Police Force for better performance.

He congratulated the Officers and demanded from them hard work and dedication to duty. He said the Commission will hold any of them personally responsible for any failure in the discharge of their duties.

The Chairman said they should rededicate themselves to the service of their nation and abide by the rules and regulations guiding police work. He noted that their leadership positions should be held with the fear of God and fairness to all parties.