Entries Deadline for Maltina Teachers’ Award Extended


The deadline for the submission of entries for this year’s Maltina Teacher of the Year Award has been extended to Friday, July 22, 2016.

The extension followed the appeals by secondary school teachers across the country for more time to enable them send in their entries for the coveted prize worth over N50 million.

The Corporate Affairs Adviser of Nigerian Breweries Plc, Mr. Kufre Ekanem, who announced this in Lagos, said entries have been received from teachers in 34 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

“We have extended the deadline for the submission of entries for Maltina Teacher of the Year because of the overwhelming appeal by teachers across the country who pleaded for the extension. This initiative is for teachers, we believe it is just fair for us to take their interest into consideration. As a company, we always listen and take the views of the people into consideration in our decision making process.”

He advised interested teachers to download application forms from the Maltina website, www.maltina-nigeria.com, adding that application forms should be completed and uploaded to the website or sent by email to maltinateacheroftheyear@heineken.com or post to PMB 12632, Marina, Lagos.
The company had earlier announced that it expanded the scope of the award to include teachers in private secondary schools in the country. In the maiden edition last year, the competition was limited to teachers in the nation’s public secondary schools.

The initiative, sponsored by the Nigerian Breweries- Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust, is to reward commitment and diligence to duty by exceptional teachers across the country.

Ekanem said like last year, all eligible applications would be subjected to an intense selection and judging process. “Our external and independent panel of judges will ensure transparency, credibility and objectivity of the initiative.
“The five- step evaluation process of the entries received will result in 37 champions (one per state and the FCT), subject to entries meeting the cut off mark set by the panel of judges. From among these state champions, the Maltina Teacher of the Year 2016 will emerge. All state champions and winners will be celebrated and rewarded in a grand ceremony scheduled for October 2016 in commemoration of World Teachers’ Day.”

He said each state champion will get N500,000 and the top 10 teachers will be recognised before the grand winners are announced. The second and first runners-up would receive trophies and an additional N750,000 and N1 million respectively.

“The Maltina Teacher of the Year 2016 will get an additional N1 million instantly plus N1 million every year for the next five years; a development training opportunity abroad and a block of classrooms built at the school where he/she teaches.

“It is our hope that through the initiative, we can inspire this nation to accord our teachers their deserved credit and bring back respect to the teaching profession in Nigeria. As partners for development, we solicit the support of all education stakeholders towards the success of this initiative.”