ATCON Elects Executives


The Association of Telecommunications Companies of Nigeria (ATCON) has elected a new set of executives that would pilot its affairs for a period of two years.

At the Annual General Meeting of the association where the executive members were unanimously elected, the National President, Mr. Olusola Teniola, who commended members for their unflinching support, stated that his administration, beyond any other agenda, would focus more on protecting existing investment in the nation’s telecommunications terrain and to attract new investment in the sector.

“I want to express my profound gratitude to all members of the association, for the confidence reposed in me and other elected National Executive Council (NEC) members, to steer the leadership of this great association for two years. I promise to work tirelessly take the association to an enviable position through execution of programmes that would aid telecoms industry growth.

“The present regime is out to set new goals for the association to enable it continue to contribute meaningfully to the sustainable development of the telecommunications industry in Nigeria. One of such goals that must be encouraged is the protection of telecom investment and the need to encourage further investments.

“Our regime will be   more proactive, pragmatic and involving. We want to further promote and encourage harmonious relationships which would impact positively on the general wellbeing of our members as well as Nigerians.

Other members of the council include Mr. Tony Nwosu,1st Vice President; David Roberts, 2nd Vice Presidents;  Myke Ofili, National Secretary; Mrs. Adeyegbe Adele, Treasurer; Ikechukwu Nnamani, Coordinator -Telephone Operators; as well as Jude Egokwu, Coordinator – Infrastructure Providers.

Others are  Gbeyega Ojuri, Coordinator – Internet Services Providers; Adebusuyi Adetunji, Coordinator – Manufacturer’s Representative; and Hyacinth Anucha, Coordinator – Value Added Services.