Quarter Finalists Battle Today at 2016 NNPC/Shell Cup


Four centers would be agog today as the quarter final matches of the 2016 NNPC/Shell Cup kicks off.

No fewer than 10 schools emerged from the zonal preliminaries recently concluded in nine cities across the country to battle for the semifinals ticket

The zonal preliminary matches which took place at the Township Stadium Katsina produced two schools for the quarter finals. They are Government Secondary School, Kwankwaso, Kano and Government Day Secondary School, Samaru Ibrahim, Gusau while Fosla Academy Secondary School, Abuja emerged from the Minna zone of the preliminaries.

Government Secondary School, Goniri, booked a quarter final ticket from Jalingo zone at the expense of schools from Gombe, Borno and Adamawa states. At Ilorin, Bauchi State represented by Government Senior Secondary School, Darazo emerged as qualifiers for the quarter finals just as Excel Education Centre, Port Harcourt also defeated all her opponents at the Uyo zone to clinch the quarter finals ticket.

Owerri zone produced National Grammar School, Nike, Enugu State as the champions of the zone and booked a ticket to play at the quarter finals.

Other quarter finalists are St. Marys High School, Ifitedunu, Enugu State, Pakoto High School, Ifo, Ogun State and Asegun Comprehensive High School, Ibadan, Oyo State that qualified from Ughelli, Osogbo and Akure zones respectively.

Meanwhile, the quarter finals have been scheduled to take place in four centers, namely, Katsina, Ilorin, Benin and Osogbo from May 21 – May 24.