NFF’s Disciplinary Committee Bans Giwa, Others for Five Years


Duro Ikhazuagbe
The Disciplinary Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) rose from its sitting in Abuja yesterday handing out five years bans each to persons including proprietor of Jos-based NPFL side, Christopher Giwa.

Other persons banned from football related activities in the country for the next five years include; Johnson Effiong, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama and Sani Fema.

According to a statement from the NFF yesterday, Giwa who has been at loggerhead with the leadership of the current board at the Glass House since after the September 30 elections in Warri, Delta State, was slammed along with his group for be in breach of the statues of the federation through illegal representation.

“After reviewing the charges, available facts and evidence, the NFF Disciplinary Committee hereby finds as follows:

That Christopher Giwa, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong are found guilty of Illegally representing the NFF in breach of Art. 40 of the NFF Statutes, when they without due authorization and mandate purported to contract a Law Firm, Messrs Leslie Cohen & Associates of Illovo Law Chambers, 4 Fricker Road, Ground Floor, South Africa in the name of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) and refused to pay for services whereby the said Messrs Leslie Cohen & Associates commenced proceedings against the NFF for the sum of $100,000 being legal fees for professional services rendered in the High Court of South Africa, Gauteng Local Division, Johannesburg.”

The committee also ruled that Giwa and his group were guilty of breaching Art. 69(1) of the NFF Statutes by taking football matters to the ordinary court and failing to submit to the jurisdiction of FIFA and the NFF.

On the threat by Giwa and his co-travellers to forcefully take over the Glass House, the Disciplinary Committee ruled that there was “insufficient particulars and evidence submitted to establish the charge of threats, unguarded, uncouth and uncivilized statements in the media against the NFF, brought against Christopher Giwa, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong.”

The Committee also upheld the League Management Company’s decision to fine Giwa FC N2.75m and award three points to Rangers following Giwa’s refusal to conclude a disputed league match.
Giwa FC also forfeited three points and three goals to Wikki Tourists for failing to turn up for a league match in Ilorin, where Giwa FC was banished to.

In attendance at the Disciplinary Committee meeting in Abuja yesterday were; Prof. Olufemi Adegbesan (Vice-Chairman), Adamu Sani Osmond, Kelvin Omuojine, and Christian Emeruwa,