THISDAY Awards Honours Doctors


Anayo Okolie

In line with its tradition of celebrating excellence, the 21st THISDAY Awards will celebrate Nigeria’s best doctors across 10 categories.

The categories include Internal Medicine, Oncology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pediatrics, Orthopedics, Public Health and Community Health, Surgery, and Dentistry, among others.

Already, an advisory panel of independent thinkers has been set up to set the criteria for selection of awardees.

The panel members include Herbert Wigwe, CEO/MD of Access Bank; Dr. Olumuyiwa Ore, Medical Director of Citizens Medical Centre, Ikoyi; and Mr. Ovie Ukiri, Managing Partner, Okeke and Ajumogobia law firm.

Members of the panel held their inaugural meeting on the criteria for choosing Nigeria’s best doctors yesterday in Lagos.

For the past 21 years, THISDAY Awards has been celebrating good governance in Nigerian business and politics, as well as outstanding leadership in banking, oil, government and other categories.

Last year’s categories include Life Time Achievement Awards for distinguished personalities and the Game Changer Awards for personalities who, in their own small steps and in their own corners, had altered the landscape and made remarkably positive impacts.

The 20th edition of the Awards also featured a posthumous recognition for Dr. Ameyo Adadevoh, a Nigerian physician, who died following her gallant effort to prevent the spread of Ebola in the country.

Past award ceremonies were graced by several world leaders and statesmen, including former US Presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush, former Prime Minister of Australia, John Howard, former British Prime Ministers Tony Blair and Gordon Brown, former Mexican President, Vicente Fox, and former UN Secretary-General, Kofi Annan.

Other notable personalities that participated in past editions of the award include former German Chancellor, Gerhard Schroeder, former Prime Minister of France, Dominique de Villepin, former Irish Prime Minister, Bertie Ahern, former World Bank President James Wolfhensoln, former US Secretaries of State Condoleezza Rice, Henry Kissinger and General Collin Powell, and publisher of Forbes magazine, Steve Forbes.