Mimiko’s Commissioners, LG Bosses Defect to APC


James Sowole in Akure
Two former commissioners that served in the cabinet of Dr. Olusegum Mimiko, Mrs Kehinde Momoh and Mr. Tayo Oluwatuyi, were among the prominent Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) members that defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Akure, the state capital wednesday.

While Oluwatuyi was a former Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs, Momoh was a former Commissioner for Adult, Technical and Vocational Education.

Other top PDP members that left PDP to APC were former Chairmen of local governments, Prince Olu Falolu, Tobi Akinlalu and Bailey Arohunmolase.

Also on the list of defectors were former members of the state House of Assembly, Bamido Omogbehin, Oyebo Aladetan and some former political office holders including Kasali Obanoyen, Chief Ajani Oladipupo, Mr. Yele Akinya and Segun Ogodo.

They defectors moved to the PDP with their followers across 15 local government areas of the state.
The chairman of APC in Ondo State, Duerimini Isaacs Kekemeke, described the defection of the people as the end of PDP’s hold on the politics of the state.

Speaking on behalf of other defectors, Arohunmolase attributed their joining the APC to failed promises of the PDP led government in Ondo State.

He said they were set to work in line with the APC directives towards winning the gubernatorial election in November this year.

Kekemeke promised to give all members equal right and a level playing field to achieve their desires.
Responding to the action of the defectors, the Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Mr. Banji Okunomo, said the defection of the people was a good riddance to bad rubbish.

He said he was sure that the defectors cannot get what they went to APC to do.