New Councils: Aregbesola Inaugurates Take-off Committees


Yinka Kolawole in Osogbo

The Governor of Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola on Thursday  inaugurated three different committees saddled with the task of proper take-off of the newly created councils in the state.

At the ceremony, he described human beings as the basic instrument of development, considering humans’ ability to think, conceive ideas and the engagement in economic production.

The committees were Asset and Liability Sharing, Boundary Adjustment and Take-Off for Local Governments and the newly created Local Council Development Areas, Area Offices and Administrative Offices in the state.

Justice Kudirat Akano is to chair a seven-man committee on Asset and Liability Sharing, while Justice Akinwale Oladimeji will head that of Boundary Adjustment Committee while former Executive Secretary of Ilesa East Local Government, Mr. Lanre Balogun, will head that of Take-Off Committee.

Aregbesola implored all Osun citizens and residents to strive more for development of the state, saying whatever asset any of the local government has should be seen as starting point for development.

He held that the goal of all should be how to use what the state has to kick-start development and make life better for the people, instead of fighting bitter war over assets that will fuel another round of bitter feuding between communities.