NJC Recommends Dimgba, Adeniyi, 20 Others for Elevation to Appeal Court

*Appoints 86 as judges of federal, state high courts

Alex Enumah in Abuja

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended 22 successful candidates for appointment as justices of the Court of Appeal.
This was disclosed in a statement from the NJC signed by the Director, Information, Mr. Soji Oye.
Similarly, the NJC also recommended for appointment as judges of federal, state high courts, 86 others.

Those on the 22-man NJC list for elevation to the appellate court included Justice Nnamdi Dimgba, Justice Donatus Okorowo, both of the Federal High Court; Justice Olukayode Adeniyi of the FCT High Court and Justice Suzette Eberechi Nyesom Wike,
Others are Hon. Justice Kwahar Polycarp Terna; Hon. Justice Ruqayat Oremei Ayoola; Hon. Justice Eleojo Eneche; Hon. Justice Asma’u Akanbi-Yusuf; Hon. Justice Abdullahi Muhammad Liman; Hon. Justice Abdu Dogo; Hon. Justice Fadawu Umaru; Hon. Justice Ishaq Mohammed Sani; Hon. Justice Zainab Bage Abubakar; Hon. Justice Abdulazeez M. Anka;  Hon. Justice Nwoye Victoria Tochukwu, and Hon. Justice Nwabunkeonye Onwosi.

Others included Hon. Justice Ngozika Uwazurunonye Okaisabor; Hon. Justice Ntong Festus Ntong; Hon. Justice Nehizena Idemudia Afolabi; Hon. Justice Lateef Babajide Lawal-Akapo; Hon. Justice Akinyemi Abiodun Azeem, and Hon. Justice Oyewumi Oyejoju Oyebiola.

 “Council at the meeting also considered the recommendation of its Interview Committee on Appointment of Judicial Officers of all Superior Courts of Record in Nigeria and resolved to recommend the under-listed 86 Judicial Officers for appointment to the Court of Appeal, High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, Sharia Courts of Appeal and Customary Courts of Appeal of States in Nigeria,” the statement added.
The statement noted that the NJC at the meeting considered two reports of its two Preliminary Complaints Assessment Committees that filtered 35 petitions written against judges of the Federal and State High Courts and decided to empanel eight committees to further investigate the petitions that were found meritorious by the committees.

 However, the statement added that the NJC issued warning letters to three judges and barred two of them from elevation to higher bench for a period.
 “The National Judicial Council under the Chairmanship of Justice Olukayode Ariwoola, GCON, at its plenary of 105th meeting held on May 15 and 16, 2024, resolved to issue warning letters to Justice Inyang E. Ekwo of the Federal High Court and Hon. Justice G. B. Brikins-Okolosi of Delta State High Court,” it added.
According to the statement, Justice Ekwo was warned for abuse of discretionary power of a judge by wrongly granting an ex parte order in Suit No. FHC/ABJ/C/626/2023 Juliet Ebere Nwadi Gbaka & 2 Ors V Seplat Energy Plc & 12 Ors.

 “The Honourable judge is also barred from being elevated to a higher Bench for a period of two years.
 “Justice G. B. Brikins-Okolosi of Delta State High Court is also issued a warning for failure to deliver judgement within stipulated period in Joseph Anene Okafor Vs Skye Bank, Suit No A/94/2010 after parties had filed and adopted their final Written Addresses. Justice G. B. Brikins-Okolosi will also not be elevated to a higher Bench for a period of three years,”Council cautioned.

 “Justice Amina Shehu of Yobe State High Court for issuing Writ of Possession Conferring Title on the Defendant in Suit No. YBS/HC/NNR/1cv/2020 when there was no subsisting judgement of any court to enable His Lordship issue the Writ,” the statement added.
 While 12 persons were recommended as judges of the FCT High Court, seven were appointed for Imo; six for Bauchi, three for Taraba and 13 for Lagos States’ High Courts.
 Similarly, Kogi had four, while Jigawa had two persons appointed as High Court judges.

Related Articles