APC Vetting C’ttee Clears Aiyedatiwa, 15 Others for Ondo Guber Poll

Adedayo Akinwale in Abuja

The vetting committee of the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship aspirants for the forthcoming Ondo State primary election has cleared Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa and 15 other aspirants ahead of the April 20 governorship primary election.

But the governor was cleared despite the allegation of forgery of the West African Examination Council (WAEC) certificate levelled  against him.

THISDAY checks revealed that the report of the committee  headed by the National Legal Adviser, Prof. AbdulKarim Kana submitted on Monday cleared all the 16 aspirants to appear before the screening committee on Friday.

The report by the committee dismissed the allegation of certificate forgery levelled against Aiyedatiwa.

The report reads: “Based on the findings of the vetting process, the committee recommends that all aspirants are cleared to participate in the screening exercises.

“The vetting committee is confident that the vetting process has been conducted with integrity and transparency.

“The committee’s recommendations are aimed at ensuring that only qualified and credible aspirants are presented for the party primaries, in line with the party’s commitment to internal democracy and good governance.”

Meanwhile, the 16 aspirants would  be screened after the inauguration of the screening committee and the Screening Appeal Committee by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party on Friday.

It was gathered that the seven-man Ondo State Gubernatorial Election Screening Committee would be inaugurated on Friday by 9 am at the National Secretariat of the party in Abuja.

The Screening Committee would be chaired by former Gombe Deputy Governor  Senator Joshua Lidani, while Hon. Bimbo Daramola would serve as Secretary.

Other screening committee members are:  Jones Erue; Chief Second Bakor; Margaret Duru; Prof. Chukwudi Ledirick and Hon. AbdulRahim Balogun.

For the five-man Screening Appeal Committee, Senator Oseni Yakubu would serve as Chairman and Hon. AbuBakar Nuhu Danburam will serve as Secretary.

Others are: Emmanuel Ekeh, Hon. Pious Idele and Hon. Ibrahim Magaji Dosara.

Related Articles