FG Releases Names of Individuals, BDCs Financing Terrorism in Nigeria

Kingsley Nwezeh in Abuja

The Federal Government has released the names of nine individuals and six Bureau De Change (BDC) operators financing terrorism in Nigeria.
The release follows government’s directive that the names of those financing terrorism in the country be published.
Following the directive, the Nigerian Sanctions Committee revealed the identities of those financing terrorism in Nigeria.
Notable among them is Tukur Mamu, a Kaduna based publisher as among the sponsors of terrorism. Mamu is the publisher of Desert Herald Newspaper.

See full list below

  1. Tukur Mamu
  2. Yusuf Ghazali
  3. Muhammad Sani
  4. Abubakar Muhammad
  5. Sallamudeen Hassan
  6. Adamu Ishak
  7. Hassana-Oyiza Isah
  8. Abdulkareem Musa,
  9. Umar Abdullahi

The six BDCs are:

  1. West and East Africa General Trading Company Limited
  2. Settings Bureau De Change Limited
  3. G. Side General Enterprises
  4. Desert Exchange Ventures Limited
  5. Eagle Square General Trading Company Limited
  6. Alfa Exchange BDC.

Details of the development were revealed by the Nigerian Financial Intelligence Unit, in an email on Tuesday night, entitled “Designation of Individuals and Entities for March 18, 2024.”
Documents released the Nigerian Sanctions Committee when it met on Monday revealed that Mamu participated in the financing of terrorism by receiving and delivering ransom payments over the sum of $200,000 US in support of ISWAP terrorists for the release of hostages of the Abuja-Kaduna train attack.
It further stated that one of the individuals is the suspected attacker of the St. Francis Catholic Church Owo, Ondo State on June 5, 2022, and the Kuje Correctional Centre, Abuja, on July 5, 2022.

Related Articles