Tinubu Asks Senate to Confirm Cardoso, 11 Others As MPC Chairman, Members 

Sunday Aborisade in Abuja 

President Bola Tinubu has asked the Senate to confirm the appointment of the Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Olayemi Cardoso, as Chairman of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC).

The president also asked the red chamber to confirm the four deputy governors of the bank — Mohammed  Abdullahi, Bala Bello, Emem Usoro, and Philip Ikeazor — as members of the committee.

Other members of the MPC appointed by Tinubu are Lamido Yuguda, the Director General of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC); Jibia Shehu, Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Finance.

Others are Murtala Sabo, Uche Wogu, Maureen Agu, Mustapha Akinwumi and Bamidele Omo.

Tinubu’s request was contained in a letter read by Senate President Godswill Akpabio during plenary on Wednesday.

The president, in his letter, said the request was in line with section 12 of the CBN Act (2007).

Part of the letter read: “In accordance with the provisions of section 12 of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Act of 2007, I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointments of the underlisted 12 persons as chair and members of the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the CBN.

“While hoping that the request will receive the expeditious consideration of the Senate, please accept the distinguished Senate President, the assurance of my highest regards.”

Akpabio referred the request to the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions for further legislative input. 

He said the committee will report back to the Senate in one week.

Related Articles