Senate Approves N57bn as Nigeria Police Trust Fund 2023 Budget

•Confirms Federal Civil Service board chairman, members’ appointments

Sunday Aborisade in Abuja

The Senate yesterday, passed the sum of N57,014,287,532.00 as the 2023 budget of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund.

Out of the amount, capital expenditure is to gulp N47,024,803,541.18, while total recurrent expenditure was put at of N9,989,483,990.00.

The approval of the 2023 NPTF budget followed the consideration and adoption of the report of the Senate and House of Representatives Joint Committees on Police Affairs on the 2023 budget proposal of the Nigeria Police Trust Fund by the Senate.

The Chairman, Senate Committee on Police Affairs, Senator Ahmed Mallam-Madori, presented the report on the floor during plenary.

The Joint Committee in its report observed that, “this is the fourth budget of the NPTF since its inception in 2019.

“That the NPTF is currently carrying on with the implementation of its 2022 approved budget.

“That the 2023 accrued revenue of the NPTF is as follows: 0.5 per cent of total revenue accrued to the Federation Accounts amounting to N56,205,355,774.00 and 0.05 per cent of the net profit of companies in Nigeria is N308,931,758,00; Aids, Grants and Donations generated the sum of N500,000,000.00.”

Meanwhile, the Senate yesterday, confirmed the appointment of Prof. Tunji Olaopa, as Chairman, Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC).

The red chamber also confirmed the appointment of 11 others as members of the Commission who are from various states of the Federation.

 The confirmation followed the presentation and adoption of a report of the Senate Committee on Establishment and Public Affairs by the Chairman, Senator Oluwole Cyril  (APC- Ekiti) at the Committee of the Whole.

While presenting the report, Oluwole urged the Senate to consider the request of President Bola Tinubu for the confirmation of the nominees for appointment as Chairman and members of the FCSC.

He said that the request was pursuant to Section 154 sub section 1 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

Oluwole, said that the Committee during the screening of the nominees, received documents from the office of Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate).

He told the Senate that the nominees possessed the requisite qualifications, professional experience, competence and capacity to further ensure success of the FCSC.

He, therefore, urged the Senate to approve their nominations, and the Upper Chamber accordingly confirmed their appointments.

Those confirmed as members of FCSC  included Dr.Dauda Ibrahim Jalo, representing  Adamawa, Gombe and Taraba States, Ededet Eyoma, representing Akwa-Ibom and Cross River states; Dr.Chambalin Nweke, Anambra, Ebonyi and, Enugu States.

Others were Rufus Godwin, representing Bayelsa, Delta, and Rivers States, Dr.Adamu Hussein, representing FCT and Niger; Aminu Nabegu, representing Jigawa and Kano states, Hindatu Abdullahi, representing  Kaduna and Katsina states, Shehu Aliyu representing Kebbi, Sokoto and Zamfara States.

Others included: Odekunle Rukiyat Aduke, representing Kogi and Kwara States, Sarah Sosan, representing Lagos and Ogun States and Dr.Festus Oyebade representing Osun and Oyo States.

Related Articles