Akpabio Leads 30 Senators to Ondo As Osemawe Celebrates 70th Birthday, 17th Coronation Anniversary

Akpabio Leads 30 Senators to Ondo As Osemawe Celebrates 70th Birthday, 17th Coronation Anniversary

Oyo Gov, UNIBEN VC, Academics, Politicians to Bag Chieftaincy Titles

Sunday Aborisade in Abuja 

The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, and his deputy, Jibrin Barau, are expected to lead no fewer than 30 serving senators and their wives to Ondo city to grace the celebration of the 70th birthday and 17th year coronation anniversary of Oba Victor Kiladejo, the Osemawe and paramount ruler of Ondo Kingdom on Saturday, November 11.

This is contained in the programme of events packaged by the Osemawe in Council and a special committee made up of eminent sons and daughters of Ondo Kingdom, anchored by Chief Steve Akinretoye who is the Chairman of the Planning Committee.

Akinretoye, in a statement Wednesday, explained that many state governors would also grace the occasion.

The statement added that the legal icon, Chief Afe Babalola; foremost industrialist, Chief Adebutu Keshington, and the Chairman, Elizade Group, Chief Michael Ade Ojo, among others are being expected as special guests of honour.

Similarly, the Sultan of Sokoto, Muhammadu Sa’ad Abubakar; the Ooni of Ife, Oba Adeyeye Ogunwusi; the Obi of Onitsha, Igwe Nnaemeka Alfred Ugochukwu Achebe; the Elegushi of Ikate land, Oba Saheed Ademola Elegushi, Kusenla III; the Oniru of Iru land, and other prominent monarchs across Yoruba land would also grace the occasion.

The Deji of Akure, the Olowo of Owo Kingdom, and other monarchs in Ondo State are also expected to honour the Osemawe with their presence on that day.

A thanksgiving service would be held on Saturday, November 11, 2023 — the actual birthday of the Monarch — at the Cathedral of St. Stephen, Oke Aluko, Ondo City at 10am.

Juju maestro, King Sunny Ade, will be on stage at the Oba Adesanoye Civic Centre, Ondo City to thrill guests at the grand finale which is the banquet/dinner birthday of the Osemawe 

The birthday and coronation anniversary would feature the installation of Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State as the 

Jagunmolu of Ondo Kingdom on Friday, 10th November at the Osemawe’s Palace at 2pm.

Earlier on the day, Governor Makinde is expected to deliver the Anniversary Lecture and the unveiling of the Compendium Brochure which would be held at the Oba Adesanoye Civic Centre by 11 am.

Other prominent Nigerians who would receive chieftaincy titles as from Thursday, November 9, 2023 at the Osemawe’s Palace are the senator representing Osun Central, Ajagunla Olubiyi Fadeyi, who would be installed as the Gbofinro of Ondo Kingdom.

The list also included the House of Representatives member representing Ondo East/West Federal Constituency, Hon. Biola Makinde, who would be installed as the Atunluse of Ondo Kingdom.

The Speaker of the Ondo State House of Assembly, Hon. Olamide Adesanmi Oladiji, would equally be installed as the Baamoye, while a renowned Professor of History, Prof. Toyin Falola, would be honoured as the Bobapitan.

A prominent lawyer, Mr. Ayodele Akintunde, will be installed as the Baamofin; the Vice-Chancellor, University of Benin, Prof. Lilian Salami, as Yeye Meso and Mr & Mrs. Lofinmakin as Mayegun.

Other beneficiaries include Prof. Folake Onayemi (Yeye Ekolere); Akinlolu Akintewe (Bobagbero), Prof. Augustinah Duyile (Yeye Meto); Alhaja Nusirat Yusuf (Yeye-Luwa); Dr. Oluwole Olakunde (Baasegun); Mr and Prof. Ogunmakin (Gbayegun/Yeye Gbayegun); Felix Oladunjoye (Bobagbimo); Princess M. Adebayo (Yeyeloro); Chief Mrs.Adeola Akinseloyin (Ajisewa) and Folake Oritsegbubemi Onayemi, among others.

Related Articles