Emeka Ibe Becomes 56th President of Rotary Club, Ikeja

Rotarian Emeka Ibe has been installed as the 56th President of Rotary Club of Ikeja. The colourful investiture which also witnessed the induction of the new board of Directors for the 2023/2024 Rotary year held at the Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja.

Speaking on how he felt about the day, which also had distinguished Rotarians in attendance, including the District Governor of Rotary International District 9110, Rotarian Ifeyinwa Ejezie, Doyen of District 9110, Past District Governor, Prince Julius Adelusi-Adeluyi and industrialist, Chief Olusegun Osunkeye, the new President said he would concentrate on the seven areas of focus of Rotary International, including mental health which was recently introduced by the President of Rotary International, Mr. Gordon McInally.

He said, “The seven areas of focus plus one will be weaved around the Rotary themes for each month. Rotary gives succor to the needy and within this year we would use our talent, time and treasure to give a hand to the needy in the society.

 “More importantly, we would key into the primary areas of focus of our District Governor, Rotarian Ejezie, which are fortifying the Rotary Foundation and telling the Rotary story in a beautiful manner as well as mental health which was recently introduced by the Rotary International President, Mr. Gordon Mclnally.’’

The event also afforded the club the opportunity of presenting honorary membership as well as bestowing awards of recognition for commitment to humanitarian services to eminent personalities, including the Chairman of Ikeja Local Government, Mojeed Alabi Balogun, Chief Executive Officer, Tenece Holding Limited, Chief Kingsley Eze, former Managing Director of First Bank Merchant Bank, Chief Chilo Offiah, former General Manager of Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Dr David Ogbodo, Dr Jeff Nnamani and Wells Advisor, Exxon Mobil Limited, Prince Okenna Afamefuna. 

Other awardees are Chief (Engr.) George Taiyese, Chief Executive Officer, Rapid Check Diagnostics and Wellness Limited; Dr. Chijioke Onyia, Chief Executive Officer, Active Edge Technology Limited; Chief George Agu, Chief Executive Officer, Norlic Technology Limited, Chief Laz Okolie and Benji Ofungwu.

Related Articles